Boston Ticket Scene: 3 Random Observations (October Edition)

In my last Random Observations post, I referenced Bruins Opening Night tickets and the Red Sox shrinking lead in the Wildcard. Ugh. The more I read, “even after a September swoon the Sox are still 2.5 games up on Tampa and LA.” the more I slip back into a state of WTF happened again?!  But now that Benstein-gate (Theoton-gate?) is finally over, we can start to move on and look forward to the 2012 baseball season. For those counting, Pitchers and Catchers report in 113 days, and I, the man on the hunt for face value or below tickets, return with another post covering the Boston ticket scene:

1) October 26th, 1951, Winston Churchill won the general election in Britain.  October 26th, 1967, Grammy winning country music singer Keith Urban was born. October 26th, 2011, the Red Sox announced their 2011 ticket prices. Why is what happened exactly one year ago today relevant? Because any day now, the Sox brass will produce a press release announcing their 2012 ticket prices. And I for one, can’t wait to see their move here. Since 2000, the average ticket price has nearly doubled, although after a year in which they didn’t make the playoffs, the Sox choose to freeze prices across 70% of Fenway in 2011. Between the September not to remember, the ouster of T-squared (Tito & Theo) and possibly P-squared (Papi & Papelbon), and chicken and waffles beers during games, the Sox have taken a hit on the PR front. Red Sox Nation is not happy, and a ticket increase is the last thing fans want to hear. So let’s see if ownership really gets it; freezing ticket prices across the board will show me they do.

2) After an unsuccessful attempt to find face value tickets for Bruins Opening Night, I was asked by a few subscribers if it was the toughest ticket to find. This of course got me thinking, what have been the most difficult tickets to find to date in 2011? My answer: 1) Adele at House of Blues, 2) Foster the People at House of Blues, 3) Bruins Opening Night at TD Garden. The Adele show was in May with tickets going for 6x face value on average. I’m convinced she could have sold out TD Garden, possibly multiple nights.

3) Circle the calendar, save the dates, June 15th, 16th, and 17th. Your Boston Red Sox visit Wrigley to take on Team Theo and the Chicago Cubs. I’ve been to Wimbledon, I’ve been to the Ryder Cup, I’ve been to English Premier soccer games, I’ve been to the Tour de France, I’ve been to World Series games, I’ve been to the NBA Finals, and I’ve been to numerous MLB stadiums.  However, I’ve never been to Wrigley. It’s at the top of my bucket list and hopefully 2012 is the year I get to cross it off.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

